Beyond the Rainbow

When we see a rainbow – it’s like a eureka experience – ‘oh look there it is!’ It connects with a childlike delight and creates a spontaneous response. It is so unexpected and we react to the discovery of its beauty and energy.iStock_000003656923Small

Rainbows occur when light is refracted through water – the raindrops acting as a prism. The white light is separated out into its different wavelengths and we see the colours of the rainbow. Both rain clouds and sunlight are needed – and interact to form the colours we see. A rainbow shows up most against a dark cloud.

Perhaps we can relate this to experiencing delight on an inner level, spiritually, when we receive an unsought gift of inner perception or insight. This might be the gift of clarity showing us how to move forward or an inner peace and sense of connection with all that is living. In this way the rainbow and our reaction to it can mirror an inner experience of ‘rainbow’ spiritual insight and energy.

I also have had the experience of being immersed in inner darkness and discovering ‘rainbow’ moments that shine through, giving hope and guidance. If you like it is a spiritual eureka moment. I have had an insight into what is real and true and seen my existing belief structures unveiled as somewhat imperfect illusions. These limited viewpoints have always existed in my life and because they seem to have always been a part of my view of life I accepted them as ‘true’. 

All of us have illusory belief structures that need reviewing and adapting or sometimes throwing out. An example of this would be having been told in the past ‘you are stupid’ or ‘you can’t sing’. This becomes a limitation and an illusion that we live with. We believe it, and furthermore we expect it to be like that in any situation we are in. Because of this we live in a box and cannot realise our true potential – be the person we are created to be.

In the rainbow I see the beauty and energy of light against the dark rain clouds. The contrast shows up the colours, just as the darkness and limitations of old belief structures are revealed when I see more clearly. The juxtaposition of these two (what is true and expands my horizons compared with what is false, illusory and limited) moves me on in my spiritual development. Suddenly I can see beyond or within in a deeper way than before – it frees me from fears and a narrow-blinkered perspective. My horizon expands …..

The rainbow is something in the sky that reaches down to earth – heaven and earth together – connected in this moment of enlightenment.

Outwardly …. the bridge between dark and light … inwardly, the rainbow is what the soul itself is, the bridge between body and spirit.

                                                             Owen Barfield, 1963, Worlds Apart

Each colour in the rainbow symbolises a spiritual insight that is vital to our inner journey. And just as physically we see colours in our own unique way, so do we experience or receive this inner call in our own way.

I have written Beyond the Rainbow – which offers seven spiritual insights which I have received from reading and inspiration as I have connected with the spiritual energy of the colours in the rainbow. I offer them to you as a guide but not in a definitive way. I trust that they will be a focus for you in your spiritual ‘quest’. Fill out the contact form attached to this post.

About soul-matters

My spiritual search began from a foundation in the wisdom of the 18th century Swedish mystic and scientist called Emanuel Swedenborg. But for a long period I left that behind as I turned to Jungian psychology and therapy. This training also included the dimension of spiritual healing as an integral part of the whole course. Over the many years of psychotherapy and training I found that it often involved keeping a journal as part and parcel of increasing self-awareness. In looking back I realise that these three threads of psychology, spirituality and healing have been weaving the pattern of my life journey. Recently I have returned to healing again as a trainee Reiki healer, and finding this to be making a profound inner change in me. I wonder if it is only now that I can really engage with healing as a part of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment